Thesis-2007-Jiwa.pdf (23.43 MB)
Download file

QOS routing for mobile Ad Hoc networks using genetic algorithm

Download (23.43 MB)
posted on 15.02.2011, 15:22 authored by Abdullah Jiwa
Mobile Ad Hoc Networks (MANETs) are a class of infrastructure less network architecture which are formed by a collection of mobile nodes that communicate with each other using multihop wireless links. They eliminate the need for central management, hence each node must operate cooperatively to successfully maintain the network. Each node performs as a source, a sink and a router. Future applications of MANETs are expected to be based on all-IP architecture, carrying a multitude of real-time multimedia applications such as voice, video and data. It would be necessary for MANETs to have an efficient routing and quality of service (QoS) mechanism to support diverse applications. This thesis proposes a set of cooperative protocols that provide support for QoS routing. The first is the on-demand, Non-Disjoint Multiple Routes Discovery protocol (NDMRD). NDMRD allows the establishment of multiple paths with node non-disjoint between source and destination node. It returns to the source a collection of routes with the QoS parameters. The second part of the protocol is the Node State Monitoring protocol for the purpose of monitoring, acquisition, dissemination and accumulation of QoS route information. The third part of the protocol implements the QoS route selection based on a Genetic Algorithm. The GA is implemented online with predetermined initial population and weighted-sum fitness function which operates simultaneously on the node bandwidth, media access delay, end to end delay and the node connectivity index (n). The term node connectivity index is a numerical value designed to predict comparatively the longest time a node-pair might be connected wirelessly.



  • Mechanical, Electrical and Manufacturing Engineering


© Abdullah Jiwa

Publication date



A Doctoral Thesis. Submitted in partial fulfilment of the requirements for the award of Doctor of Philosophy of Loughborough University.

EThOS Persistent ID