Loughborough University
Thesis-2016-Sogbesan.pdf (8.83 MB)
Download file

Strategies for reducing hydrocarbon emissions in diesel low temperature combustion

Download (8.83 MB)
posted on 2016-06-10, 07:48 authored by Oluwasujibomi Sogbesan
Government legislation on particulate matter (PM) and oxides of nitrogen (NOX) emissions have become increasingly stringent over the past decades. Future projections have led to internal combustion (IC)engine developers exploring advanced combustion technologies which may replace or supplement current state of the art systems. Advanced combustion technologies such as Low Temperature Combustion (LTC) cover a broad series of mechanisms that seek to attain in-cylinder Equivalence ratio (f) - Temperature (T) combinations during combustion which lead to acceptable emissions of exhaust PM and NOX. These are generally achieved by a combination of EGR dilution and extended ignition delays for mixture preparation. Another common feature of LTC is the poor combustion efficiency due to severe requirements placed on mixture quality as lower temperatures and oxygen concentrations reduce local ignitability limits. Therefore, a significant amount of work on LTC is centred around understanding the spatial and temporal development of inadequately prepared mixtures during LTC. The investigations presented in this thesis are expected to contribute to this body of work as they are predicated on the hypothesis that current mixture preparation methods are insufficiently adapted to conditions present in LTC combustion modes. [Continues.]





  • Mechanical, Electrical and Manufacturing Engineering


© Olusujibomi Sogbesan

Publisher statement

This work is made available according to the conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0) licence. Full details of this licence are available at: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/

Publication date



A Doctoral Thesis. Submitted in partial fulfilment of the requirements for the award of Doctor of Philosophy of Loughborough University.


  • en